Close Menu
Berlin, Ocean Pines News Worcester County Bayside Gazette Logo Berlin, Ocean Pines News Worcester County Bayside Gazette


OPA candidates draw cards to determine order on ballot

Three board candidates, from left John Latham, Jeff Heavner and Elaine Brady, draw playing cards to determine the order of names on the ballot and who will speak first during the candidate forum on June 21.

By Cindy Hoffman, Staff Writer

(June 8, 2023) Three out of four Ocean Pines Board of Directors candidates gathered around the table last Friday to determine who would be first on the ballot and first to answer questions at the upcoming candidate forum.

Elaine Brady, Jeff Heavner and John Latham drew from playing cards. Jerry Murphy was out of town for a graduation ceremony. Aces high and Latham drew it. That put the order at

This summer’s election is for three seats on the board, two of which will be made vacant when the terms of Doug Parks and Colette Horn expire. Parks and Horn could not seek reelection because of term limits. The third vacancy was created by the departure of Frank Daly, who resigned his director’s post this week.

“The Board has acknowledged the resignation of Director Frank Daly, effective Tuesday, June 6. Frank and his wife, Irene, have sold their house in Ocean Pines and are moving to Florida to be close to their family in that area. Given that Frank is no longer a homeowner in Ocean Pines, he, per our governing documents, is now ineligible to serve on the board,” said Doug Parks, president of OPA.

 Piatti said ballots would be mailed to homeowners the week of July 11 and are due back to Election Trust by Tuesday, Aug. 8 at 4 p.m.  This is one day earlier than previously reported. He wants to provide a day to see if any ballots have been dropped off at the ballot box.

Important upcoming election dates are as follows:

Voter eligibility deadline – Wednesday, July 6.

Candidate Forum – Wednesday, June 21 at 6 p.m.

Ballots mailed – Week of July 11.

Ballot deadline – Tuesday, Aug. 8 by 4 p.m.

Ballots counted and vote totals announced – Thursday, Aug 10.

Annual Meeting – Saturday, Aug. 12.